Day Forty Seven: Baking

I love cooking. I try to cook as often as possible. My flatmate’s the same, he also loves cooking so we always have a ton of raw ingredients lying around making it easy to chuck a recipe or two together.

After a conversation with my girlfriend, I decided it’d be a good idea to try some baking. Ever since ditching the junk food I thought I’d treat myself and make some muffins. I’ve only ever done baking once before and it was waaaaaayyyyyyyyy back in school.

I found a recipe online and bought what I needed yesterday when I was shopping. This one was the recipe I used (spoilers: it’s rubbish). However, as I have pictures and such like I’ll post the ingredients and process here. Ready?

(I apologise in advance for A) bad photography – photography is not my strong point and B) my dirty cooker)

GO!

Ingredients:

140g plain chocolate
375g self-raising flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
55g unsweetened cocoa powder
85g caster sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
6 tablespoons sunflower oil
375ml milk
140g white chocolate chips

First off, I’m not a great lover of dark chocolate but I thought I’d stick with this recipe to the letter cause it was my first attempt. There is enough mixture made for 20 muffins, which seems excessive, I’ll admit, but screw it. I’m sure I can get folk to eat them. The chocolate:

The dreaded dark chocolate

Apparently that’s 140 grams. The scales don’t lie.

You got to melt that stuff. Which is a whole load of fun…

Melting chocolate. AWWW YEAH

Next up, beat together two eggs, six tablespoons of sunflower oil, two teaspoons of vanilla extract and milk:

I forgot the milk in this photo

Make sure that shit is beaten good:

Add milk and whisked

Interestingly, the recipe calls for you to add the melted chocolate to the mixture. Found that the chocolate started to solidify and sank to the bottom of the mixture but it turned out ok in the end…

Or did it?

After that, you gotta do some stuff with the baking powder, self raising flower and cocoa powder. Namely sieve them all together into one big bowl:

A few different substances mixed together. Cocoa power and what looks suspiciously like cocaine...

I should say that was I was measuring out that cocoa powder I managed to spill some on my hoodie. Now I smell like a five year old boy who’s been eating chocolate all day.

Once there, grab some caster sugar…

Ingredients sieved together and some caster sugar to be added

And mix that shit together good:

A whole lotta powder

Now I know what you’re thinking, that’s a big bowl and that’s a lot of mixture and if you thought then…you’re right! That’s the biggest bowl I have here and there was no way I was going to fold all the mixture together. So I had to half it and do two batches. Anyway, if you don’t know what folding is then you can find out how to do it here. The folding, then:

And fold the wet stuff into the dry

Mmm. Blurry.

Anyway, after that fold in the goddamn white chocolate chips:

Cake mixturey goodness

And that’s it! Just add the mixture to the muffin cases…

Added to the trays and banged in the oven

So there you have it. Bung em in the oven at 200 C/ Gas Mark 6 and wait 20 to 25 minutes and you’ll end up with…

The finished product (Frankenmuffins?)

Wait, that’s not right? I thought muffins were supposed to have muffin tops?!

Well, that’s the point of this tale, kids. The muffins didn’t rise very well (but they DID rise, as you can see) and I think I left them in a tad too long. I’m not going to say “They tasted awesome!” because they didn’t. They tasted ok. The first batch tasted like…well, nothing really (even thought there is an immense amount of chocolate in there) but the second batch tasted a bit better.

So the moral of the story is: don’t use that recipe. It’s shit. Get a better one. Like this. Oh and the second moral of the story is: there is no happy ending like Jamie Oliver’s TV show leads you to believe.

I’m sure someone will eat them anyway. Even if I need to give them away.

3 thoughts on “Day Forty Seven: Baking

Leave a Reply

